25 August 2021

IIASA Deputy Director General appointed to the Global Energy International Award Committee

IIASA Deputy Director for Science Leena Srivastava has been appointed as one of 20 world renowned energy experts who will select winners of the prestigious annual Global Energy Prize. 

The Global Energy Association's International Energy Prize is awarded each year for outstanding scientific research and scientific-technical developments in the field of energy which promote greater efficiency and environmental security for energy sources on Earth in the interests of humanity. As a member of the International Award Committee, Srivastava has been elected for a four-year term and will be responsible for shortlisting the laureates and selecting two to three award winners​.

This year’s annual meeting of the International Award Committee for the Global Energy Prize will be held behind closed doors on 29 August 2021 at 1:00 PM (CEST). This will be followed by a ceremony announcing the names of the new laureates in Kazan, Tatarstan, on 06 September 2021.  

The “Global Energy” awards ceremony will be attended by guests from throughout the world –representing governments, the scientific community, business, public figures, youth scientific groups and members of the media. These will include the President of the Republic of Tatarstan Rustam Minnikhanov, the President of the Global Energy Association Sergey Brilev, and the Chairman of the International Award Committee Rae Kwon Chung.

Print this page

Last edited: 25 August 2021


Leena Srivastava

Deputy Director General for Science Directorate - DDG for Science Department

The Global Energy Prize

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313