

Ana María Cetto is full-time Research Professor at the Institute of Physics and lecturer at the Faculty of Sciences, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). She holds an M.A. degree in Biophysics from Harvard University and M.Sc and Ph.D degrees in Physics from UNAM. Her main field of research is theoretical physics, where she has contributed substantially to the foundations of quantum mechanics on the basis of stochastic electrodynamics. She is coauthor of 'The Quantum Dice' (Kluwer, 1996) and "The Emerging Quantum" (Springer, 2015), and has published another 10 books and 115 research articles.

Prof. Cetto is former Dean of the Faculty of Sciences, and former Head of the Theoretical Physics Department at the Institute of Physics (UNAM). She chaired the project for the Museum on Light, UNAM (1996) and served as consultant for the UNESCO World Conference of Science (1999). From 2003 to 2010 she served as Deputy Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (Nobel Peace Prize 2005), where she headed the Department of Technical Cooperation. She served on the Steering Committee for the International Year of Light 2015 and chaired the IYL2015 closing ceremony. She is founding president of LATINDEX, online information system for Ibero-American and Caribbean scholarly journals.

Prof. Cetto has held honorary positions in a number of international organisations, including the Executive Boards of Interciencia Association, Third World Organisation for Women in Science (TWOWS, Co-Founder), International Council for Science (ICSU), International Foundation for Science (IFS), United Nations University (UNU), International Network of Engineers and Scientists (INES) and the Pugwash Conferences (Nobel Peace Prize 1995). She has been awarded the National Research Prize in Physics, and the National Prize for the Development of Physics, by the Mexican Physics Society. She was appointed Mexico's Woman of the Year in 2003. She holds honorary doctorates from the Tajik State National University (2007), the Azerbaijan National Academy of Sciences (2010) and APEC University in the Dominican Republic (2011). The University of Guadalajara has established the Ana María Cetto chair for the Promotion of Scientific Culture (2015). She is a member of the World Future Council.

Octoberr 2018