12 September 2015 - 16 September 2015
Tromsø, Norway

Arctic Council Working Groups Meetings

Four Arctic Council Working Groups Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP), Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna (CAFF), Arctic Contaminants Action Program (ACAP), and Protection of Arctic Marine Environment (PAME) hold meetings including a joint session in Tromsø, Norway. IIASA Arctic Futures Initiative (AFI) has been invited to give presentations in AMAP, CAFF and ACAP Working Group meetings.

The Arctic Council 

The Arctic Council as a high level intergovernmental forum established in 1996 to provide a means for promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, with the involvement of the Arctic Indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic.

The Arctic Council consists of the eight Arctic States: Canada, Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States.

 The Arctic Council Chairmanship nation is currently the United States (2015-2017) followed by Finland (2017-2019) and Iceland (2019-2021).

International organizations representing Arctic Indigenous Peoples have permanent participant status:

Twelve non-arctic countries have been admitted as observers to the Arctic Council: France, Germany, The Netherlands, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom, People's Republic of China, Italian Republic, Japan, Republic of Korea, Republic of Singapore, and Republic of India.

Nine Intergovernmental and Inter-Parliamentary Organizations have been given observer status:

Eleven Non-governmental organizations are observers in the Arctic Council:

Print this page

Last edited: 26 June 2019


A new IIASA flagship initiative will bring a holistic systems perspective to the Arctic.

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313