13 February 2018

YSSP 2017 scholarship winners announced

IIASA has announced that three outstanding young scientists from the 2017 Young Scientists Summer Program (YSSP) will receive scholarship funding to return to IIASA in 2018.



Pablo Ortiz Partida will receive the Mikhalevich Award while Hana Mandova and Yaoping Wang will each receive a Peccei Award. The funding will allow the scientists to continue with their research projects at IIASA for another three months.

The awards are given annually for outstanding papers from the previous year’s YSSP cohort. Candidates are nominated by the program director of the relevant IIASA research program and assessed by a committee comprised of one member from each research program. Each candidate’s paper is evaluated based on its quality, originality, and relevance. The final decision is made by IIASA Director General and CEO Professor Dr. Pavel Kabat.

Peccei scholarships, named in honor of IIASA alumnus Aurelio Peccei, are awarded to policy-related research, while Mikhalevich scholarships, named for IIASA alumnus Vladimir S. Mikhalevich, are aimed at mathematically and methodologically oriented research.

Award recipients

Pablo Ortiz Partida receives the Mikhalevich Award for his study “Robust management of multipurpose reservoirs under uncertainty”.

Hana Mandova receives the Peccei Award for her study “Optimization of European biomass resources for integrated steel plants”.

Yaoping Wang receives the Peccei Award for her study “Hydroclimate impacts on current and planned coal-fired power plants in Asia”.

Support the YSSP

Donations from alumni and other supporters give exceptional candidates without funding the chance to participate in the YSSP. The YSSP Fund is currently accepting donations to fund 2018 YSSP participants.

Print this page

Last edited: 13 February 2018

Further information

About the Young Scientists Summer Program

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313